Sultan Qaboos University - Central Analytical and Applied Research Unit

Overview of Services

The Central Analytical and Applied Research Unit (CAARU) is an ISO 9001-2015 certified laboratory at Sultan Qaboos University (SQU). The unit has established itself on the basis of having expertise in the field of advanced instrumentation and developing the capabilities with the most cutting edge technologies. The primary mission of CAARU is to develop into a focal point for analytical applications and applied research in SQU by making our services readily available and to establish a strong link between the College of Science and the corporate sectors in Oman (including ministries and private sectors). Since its inception, CAARU strived for excellence in all types of quality analytical services, research and training. The unit is well equipped with major top-of the range instrumentation covering different field of sciences including: Chromatography & Spectrometry , Material Sciences and Cellular & Molecular Biology.

Leadership

Ahlam Al-Azkawi
Head of Unit
96824146802
azkawi@squ.edu.om

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

 

Sunday-Thursday

8:00 am - 3:00 pm                               

 

Al Koudh, Muscat 123

Links and Resources

  1. https://www.squ.edu.om/science/About/Units/CAARU
  2. https://youtu.be/9Rjca0VyLOA

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Suad Al-Burtamani
Chromatography/ MS  Application Specialist
 
96824146805
 
balqees@squ.edu.om
 
0022 (Ground floor)
 
Saif Al Mamari
XRD/SEM Application Specialist
 
96824146806
 
saifa@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Mahmood H. Al-Riyami
Support/Maintenance Specialist
 
96824146806
 
mahmood@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Sanket Janakray Joshi
Laboratory Application Specialist
 
96824146806
 
sanket@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Singaravadivel.T
Chromatography/ MS  Application Specialist
 
96824146806
 
singh@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Sathish Babu S P
Chromatography/ MS  Application Specialist
 
96824146806
 
sathish@squ.edu.om
 
0007 (Ground floor)
 
Ratiba Al-Maaini
Molecular Biology Application Specialist
 
96824146806
 
ratiba@squ.edu.om
 
0007 (Ground floor)
 
Wafa Al-Alawi
Molecular Biology Application Specialist
 
96824146894
 
wafaj@squ.edu.om
 
0007 (Ground floor)
 
Asma Kh. Al-Bahry
Biotechnologist
 
96824146894
 
abahri@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Muna Al-Hosni
Chromatography/MS Senior Technician
 
96824146894
 
malhosni@squ.edu.om
 
0022 (Ground floor)
 
Zahra Al-Mamari
SEM/NMR Technician
 
96824146805
 
zahra.m@squ.edu.om
 
0022 (Ground floor)
 
Bushra Al-Daghari
XRF/XRD Technician
 
96824146805
 
bushra1@squ.edu.om
 
0022 (Ground floor)
 
Ibrahim S. Al-Khusaib
XRF/XRD/SEM Technician
 
96824146806
 
ibmsaid@squ.edu.om
 
0024 (Ground floor)
 
Khulood Al-Maimani
Unit Coordinator
 
96824146801
 
khuloodm@squ.edu.om
 
0013 (Ground floor)
 
Buthaina al huseini
XRD/XRF Technician
 
96824146805
 
b.alhuseini@squ.edu.om
 
0022 (Ground floor)